When I First Realised I was a Writer

(a mandate from our Reluctant Secretary- “Write a  paragraph on why you write, or when I first realised you were a writer.”)

Hello. My name is Karen and I am a writer.

I did not realise I was a writer in primary school.
I hid the book I wrote in high school.
I did not admit that I was a writer when penning articles for magazines.
I pushed away the ideas and writings for a memoir as I was not ready to face the daemons… quite yet.
I first realised I was a writer when I woke up at 3 am and was scrounging for paper and pen, in the moonlight, to scribble down some prose. My husband woke, mumbled something and rolled over as if it was the norm.  I write because I must. I get grumpy when I don’t write. I have these weird and wonderful characters knocking on the inside of my skull, demanding to be heard. When I do write them, they have a life of their own. They have always been there. Now they are happy too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Why and when?

Leave a Reply

